Teen Courses

Teen Courses

IMPORTANT: TEEN/PARENT Information

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for U.S. teens. In 2010, seven teens ages 16 to 19 died every day from motor vehicle injuries. Per mile driven, teen drivers ages 16 to 19 are three times more likely than drivers aged 20 and older to be in a fatal crash. Fortunately, teen motor vehicle crashes are preventable, and proven strategies can improve the safety of young drivers on the road.

http://www.cdc.gov/MotorVehicleSafety/Teen_Drivers/teendrivers_factsheet.html

Register Check Class Dates

Steps to helping your teen drive safe

Description

Tool Box

Safety Items

Parent Teen Interaction

 

Discuss with your teen the consequences of violating your agreement of safe driving practices. Set Times and curfews that you both can agree on.

Contract between Your Teen and You.

Selecting a school

Making sure "WHO IS TEACHING YOUR TEEN AND THE QUALIFICATION" could be "Life Changing".

Check their credentials/Reputation

Understanding the process

With new laws in place getting a license isn't the same as it was 20 years ago. Go to expresslane.org to check for new laws and policies with the OMV.

Dept. of Motor Vehicle Louisiana

Being a good example

Teens always mimic what their parents do. Especially Texting while driving "Big no, no and could cost someone their life."

Check with Breaux's Driving School Staff to get help with any questions you may have.

Coaching

Be patient and understanding with your teen. You were a teen at one time.

Contact Breaux's Driving School Staff for coaching pointers.

Ask us about your teens progress and driving achievements

We at Breaux's Driving School want to communicate what your teen's strengths and weaknesses are so you can continue molding them into being safe and effective drivers.

We are here to help you with all your driver education needs.

Follow-up with your teen

Don't be too critical. Constructive criticisms are very important.

Your teen should also get experience in various road conditions.

You and your teen set up a driving log and schedule some quality time helping them go the extra mile.

IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR PARENTS AND TEENS

July 24, 2012

New Training Requirements for First Time Drivers

BATON ROUGE – A bill passed in this spring's legislative session will usher in sweeping new changes to Louisiana's driver licensing law. The new law, which takes effect August 1, mandates an increased number of classroom training hours as well as behind-the-wheel driving instruction for first time licensure applicants.

Senate Bill 667, sponsored by Senator Gary Smith, requires those seventeen years of age to attend a 38 hour driver education course versus the previous requirement of a 6 hour pre-licensing course. The new law will also impact new applicants 18 years and older by now requiring 8 hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction in addition to the 6 hours of classroom instruction.

"I believe this change will produce safer drivers, reduce accidents and save lives. It is also a step toward stabilizing and maybe even reducing automobile insurance rates," said Senator Gary Smith, Jr.

"Far too often in law enforcement, we see the tragic consequences of crashes involving teens. Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for teens in the United States. Additionally, teens are four times more likely to crash than older drivers. We must ensure that our teenagers are prepared to take on the tremendous responsibility of safely operating a motor vehicle. The public not only expects it but demands it," said Colonel Mike Edmonson, Deputy Secretary – Department of Public Safety.

"Public safety continues to be our number one priority at the Office of Motor Vehicles. We have an obligation to ensure that we license individuals who are ready to assume the responsibility of operating motor vehicles on the highways of our state. Training is a key component of their readiness," said OMV Commissioner Steve Campbell.

Individuals that are currently holding a 6 hour pre-licensing certificate must make application prior to August 1st, 2012 or they will need to comply with the new requirements.

Should the public have questions regarding the new requirements, they may contact the Office of Motor Vehicles at (225) 922-1664.

OMV Website: www.expresslane.org

New Drivers Information Chart:

Age

Current

Classroom Hrs

Required

Current

Behind the Wheel Hrs

Required

Effective August 1, 2012

Classroom Hrs

Required

Effective August 1, 2012

Behind the Wheel Hrs

Required

15*

30

8

30

8

16

30

8

30

8

17

6

0

30

8

18 & above

6

0

6

8

Call us at 225-450-3350